A neat idea for buying (and marketing) books

I just finished reading The Heretic by Joseph Nassise on my ereader.  I had never heard of the book or of the author until my husband sent me a link to StoryBundle.    The concept is a simple one:  DRM-free books for whatever you want to pay.  If you paid $7 or more for the five books being offered, you received two additional books as a bonus.

After paying my money by means of PayPal, I received a link from which to download the books.  Although they said it might take a while to get the link, it was almost instantaneous for me.  I downloaded the books and loaded them onto my Kobo.  The Heretic was the first of the seven I read, but I was happy enough with that book to be pretty sure I will like the rest.

They are now working to set up the second bundle.  I don’t know anything about it yet, but I signed up to get an email when it’s ready.  I don’t think I will be able to buy all the bundles and get all the bonus books, but who knows?

That is my reaction as a reader.  Now, as a writer, I cannot help but be even more impressed.  This line from the website says it all:

Readers have purchased more than 3600 bundles and paid more than $30,000!

That was just on this one bundle, the first they have put out!  Not bad!  Of course, they got a lot of good press that undoubtedly helped, but I won’t be surprised to see the next bundle do that well or even better!

It will be interesting to see what happens with this in the future.  It seems like a great idea, and I hope it can really take off.

 

Leave a Reply

