September Reading

Last month I read 5 books, four of them on my Kobo ereader.

I read 2 novels. The Heretic by Joseph Nassise was one of the books I got through StoryBundle.  I really enjoyed it.  It could have used another copy edit, but the story itself was quite good.   Winter World by CJ Mills was a book one of my students told me she had stayed up all night to read.  She loaned me the book, and I read it in a day and a half.  It was a good story and pretty well written.  It was the first in a trilogy, and I would like to read the others.  That says something, I think.

There were three nonfiction books. Virtual Justice by Greg Lastowka discusses laws as they apply or don´t apply to online communities.  It was a little more technical than I was prepared for in some ways — I know nothing really about online communities —  but it was very readable.  I learned a lot.  A  Cynic Looks at Life by Ambrose Bierce was fun  The book,  a series of short essays, was copyrighted in 1912.  He says a lot of interesting things, like

…we have abundant evidence that each generation has believed itself wiser and better than any of its predecessors…

Bierce was no exception, it seems.  He gives his opinions of a wide range of topics from civilization to the death penalty to immortality to the emancipation of women. The book offers some interesting insight into thinking in the early 20th century.

No Red Pen – Writers, Writing Groups and Critique by  Victoria A. Hudson offers a somewhat simplistic view of writers’ groups.  It might be of value to writers who have no experience with such groups, but it wasn´t really for me.  This is a book that was published on Smashwords and, like The Heretic, it could have used a final edit.

I read two classics: Dracula by Bram Stoker  and Lady Susan, a novella by Jane Austen.  Dracula was Dracula.  I knew the story, of course, but had never read the book.  Lady Susan was written mostly in the form of letters between family members and friends and then, in the end, reverts to a description of  what happened next.  Lady Susan was a scheming woman who had to have her own way, regardless of how it affects anyone else. In this way she is not unlike many of Austen´s heroines.   It was a fun, quick read.  I liked the letter format because it gave me small chinks to read.  I don´t like long chapters!

I´m already in the middle of two nonfiction books and a novel, so October looks like it will be another good month.  I hope so!

Leave a Reply

