October Reading

I only managed to read four books this month:

Pocho by José Antonio Villareal was aa  fascinating book I found on the shelf in my classroom.  It is the story of a young man  growing up in California.  The son of Mexican immigrants who came to this country after the Mexican Revolution, the main character experienced the pull of two conflicting cultures, two very different approaches to life.  I enjoyed the book a lot.

Uncharted Territory by Connie Willis was a lot of fun.  It was unlike any of her other books that I have read.  It showed a side of Ms. Willis that I have glimpsed on occasion at the Jack Williamson Lectureship but hd never seen in her writing. The story is that of two planetary explorers in uncharted territory — or trying to get there, at least.  I had missed some very crucial  information until I was almost at the end (by the author´s design, I am sure!), but that made it more interesting.

Content by Cory Doctorow is a series of essays written in the early years of this century.  In many cases they seem spot on, but in others it seems Doctorow missed the mark a bit.  I was especially interested to read his assertion that most people would never choose to read books electronically over reading the hard copy.   It was well worth the time I invested in reading it.  And I read an electronic version, of course.

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers was one I almost didn´t think I would be able to finish.  The true story of a Muslim family in New Orleans at the time of Katrina, it was sometimes very difficult to read.  Having stayed in our Covington home duing the storrm, I remember very well the confusion about where the storm was headed and then the almost last minute push to get people to evacuate.  The  fact that the family was Muslim, the husband from Syria, added another layer of stress and of horror to an already horrible story.   I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Katrina and what happened in her aftermath.

I guess this month should teach me not to brag  about how much I am going to read in the future.  Anything can happen.  All I can do is the best I can do.  As of today, I have read 46 books this year — far fewer than I had anticipated.  I have read 21 fiction books, 15 non-fiction, and 10 classics.  There are two months to go before the year ends and I set myself new reading goals.  I am still aiming for an equal number in each of the three  categories, but I am not holding my breath!

Leave a Reply

