Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

November Reading

Well, I managed to read a few books in November.  Not as many as I would have liked, but I guess something is better than nothing.

Simple Genius by David Baldacci was  a good book.  I like his stuff.The story was interesting and kept my attention.  It was complicated enough that I was kept  guessing.  I recommend it if you like  detective stories.

We heard  Brandon  Sanderson read part of his novella Legion at  Bubonicon last  August.  It is about a man who is hired to solve mysteries. He has a unique set of assistants: his hallucinations.  It is a fun read.  I hadn´t  read anything of Sanderson´s before this, but I will definitely read more.

Context by Cory Doctorow was more interesting to me than the book I read last month, Content.  It is another series of essays he has written.  Many of these had been published in Locus and dealt with writing science fiction.  These essays were also more recent than the ones in Content, I think.  At least they seemed more current.  I really enjoyed reading them..

The Man Who Knew Too Much by GK Chesterton was truly enjoyable.  Set in England, it features a man who frequently solves mysteries using his powers off observation.  He is bit of a Sherlock Holmes type but quite unique.  The stories are told by his friend, much in the same way Holmes stories are told by Watson. I  remember having read something by Chesterton when I was in high school, but it wasn´t this book.  This one made me want to read more..

Persuasion by Jane Austen is another of her charming stories about a young woman finding love.  It was less predictable to me than some of them have been.  I enjoyed it.

So, as you can see, I managed to read one non-fiction and two classics this month.  I read  two more current novels, though,  putting me seriously  behind in  an equal number of each.  One month to go.    Will I catch up?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “November Reading

  1. A detective using his hallucinations to solve mysteries? Sounds a bit like the premise of a current TV show called Perception…

Leave a Reply

