January Reading

I only finished 3 books in January:

  1. The Wisdom of Father Brown by GK Chesterton
  2. Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L. Sayers
  3. An Antarctic Mystery by Jules Verne

All three were books that I downloaded for free.  That is my new favorite way to get books.  The quality of the Verne book left a lot to be desired (It had been scanned and then not proofread afterwards, I think.), but the other two were fine.  I am getting a lot of books from manybooks.net these days — including those three.

I remember having read a Father Brown book when I was in junior high or high school.  I have no idea which one, of course.  I like Chesterton’s writing, and I liked this book.  It isn’t for everyone, I know, but if you like a gentle mystery, you will probably like The Wisdom of Father Brown.

I have to admit that I don’t remember much about Clouds of Witness.  I know it was a Lord Peter Wimsey mystery.  Lord Peter’s brother is accused of murder and Lord Peter helps to investigate and solve the crime.  This reminds me a bit of the Elizabeth George Inspector Lynley books.  I really like them, and I really liked this one.  I will read more of Sayers books — at least ones in this series.

As I said, the quality of the copy of An Antarctic Mystery that I read wasn’t good, but the story was interesting.  It was supposed to be a “sequel” to Poe’s The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket.  I have not read Poe’s book, and I would have been tempted to do so, but now I know the story because Verne retells it, so I probably won’t.  Verne’s story is a good one; I enjoyed it.

I tried to finish the next book I read before the end of the month, but I didn’t get it read until the 1st.  So I have a head start on February’s reading!

Leave a Reply

