Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

February Reading

I read four books last month:

  1. The Hour Before Dark by Douglas Clegg
  2. Basil by Wilkie Collins
  3. Bypass Gemini by Joseph Lallo
  4. The Emperor’s Edge by Lindsey Buroker

I am not a horror fan, and I almost stopped reading The Hour Before Dark  when it got to be the hour before dark.  I kept going, though, and ended up being glad I did.  It was a good story that kept me guessing up to the end.  And then the very end took a, to me at least, very surprising turn.  As I said, I don’t read horror so I don’t have a lot to compare it to, but I enjoyed this book a lot.

I have downloaded a number of Wilkie Collins book because people have told me they are good, but Basil is the first one I have read.  And I thought it was a good book.  It is, in some ways, a mystery.  It made me curious about his other books, which I will probably read before long.

Bypass Gemini is a book I got through Humble Bundle.  It is only the second of those books that I have read.  I thought it was a good read.  The story kept me going — although it was a bit predictable. I would definitely read more by Lallo.

The last book I read, The Emperor’s Edge, was one that I stayed up late to finish that last night of February (Something I had not been able or willing to do with The Hour Before Dark!).  This is the first on a series that now has at least five books.  It was a good story and has potential to develop into a good series.  It is “high fantasy mystery”.  I will probably get at least the second book in this series.

So now I am reading another book I got in a bundle somewhere.  I have over 200 books on my ereader and others in my calibre library.  I am not in danger of running out of books to read any time soon, and I keep getting more!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

