Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

March Reading

I made it through four books in March:

  1. Diary of a Small Fish by Pete Morin
  2. The Innocence of Father Brown by GK Chesterton
  3. Blood Red Turns Dollar Green by Paul O’Brien
  4. The Black Cat by Martha Grimes

Diary of a Small Fish and Blood Red Turns Dollar Green were two I got in an ebook bundle.  Both were OK.

Diary of a Small Fish is about an attorney who is, in the end, a small fish.  But the crooked politicians go after him, and it takes quite a while for him to come out victorious.  It was easy to read and pretty interesting.

I liked Blood Red Turns Dollar Green in spite of the fact that it was about professional wrestling in the early 1970s.  Actually, I saw a professional wrestling match in the mid-60s, and the book helped me to understand that whole phenomenon.  Apparently O’Brien is writing/has written a sequel to this book.  I don’t know if I was interested enough to read a second one, but I might.

The Innocence of Father Brown was another good book.  The stories, as in the other Father Brown books I have read, were simple and sometimes Father Brown seems to be clairvoyant, but overall I enjoyed the book.

The Black Cat was the first book by Martha Grimes that I have ever read.  I liked it a lot and plan to read more of her Richard Jury novels.  This one reminded me a little of Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley books, which I really like.  I had a little trouble with the dog and cat that can talk to each other in this book, but even that didn’t bother me too much.

I am amazed by how little reading I am getting done this year.  Oh well…  Maybe it will get better.  I am really not sure if the ereader has helped or hindered my reading — or maybe it is because I spend too much time on Hulu.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

