Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

May Reading

Taking a road trip where I didn’t have to drive much and then taking another few days off work have allowed me to read more this month than usual — or at least more than I have been reading lately.

The Mystery of the Yellow Room by Gaston Leroux was an old mystery.  Until I just looked him up on Wikipedia, I had no idea he was the author of The Phantom of the Opera. The Mystery of the Yellow Room was apparently his first novel.  It was quite good.

Berserker Throne was the first book by by Fred Saberhagen that I have ever read.  I have seen his widow at conferences and always said I would get around to reading some of his stuff, but I never had.  This was one I downloaded from Baen’s Free Library.  Or at least I think that is where I got it from.  It no longer appears there, so I cannot be sure.  It was a good book, though, and I will acquire more of the Berserker series for sure!

The Year When Stardust Fell by Raymond F. Jones was written in 1958, and it shows its age.  It was a good story, though.  I was not familiar with Jones’ work before this.  I will probably try to find more.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster was on the shelf in my classroom, and I have been reading at it off and on for some time.  It gave me some ideas to think about in terms of the novel my son and I are still writing.  While Foster is a professor, the book was very easy to read and did not pretend to have all the answers about literature.  I enjoyed it.

Believing the Lie by Elizabeth George is the latest of her Inspector Lynley books.  It is the first one I have read electronically.  I don’t know how/if that affected my experience with this book, but somehow or other I didn’t get as into it as I had expected to. It was still a good book, though, and I find I am already looking forward to her next one, which is due out this year.

Whose Body? is the second book I have read by Dorothy L. Sayers.  It was her first Lord Peter Wimsey novel.   I was glad to learn that because he was a much better character in the second one, Clouds of Witness, which I read first.  In this one, Wimsey recites poetry and is more playing at being a detective than he is in the other.  I would be happy to read more of her work if I can find it.

So I have read six books this month.  That’s a little bit better than some months!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

