June Reading

I finished five books this month:

  1. 48 Hours: A City of London Thriller by J. Jackson Bentley
  2. Along Came a Demon by Linda Welch
  3. The Blue Last by Martha Grimes
  4. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie
  5. On Basilisk Station by David Weber

48 Hours was a “fun” read about people who were being blackmailed and would die at the end of 48 hours if they didn’t pay up.  The story kept me involved.  I had some trouble with how much access the victims were given to the police investigation, but that was my only real complaint.  I had never heard of J. Jackson Bentley before this, but he has written several books.  I will probably read more of his work.

Along Came a Demon is billed as a paranormal mystery.   I enjoyed it a lot.  It reminded me a little of Charlaine Harris‘s Harper Connelly books. This was a free ebook that will probably get me to buy more of Welch’s work.  

When I was reading The Blue Last, my husband was reading Connie Willis’s Blackout.  I was stating to feel like we were being overrun by World War II.  But that wasn’t really a bad thing.  The Blue Last was a very complicated story that dealt with things that had happened during the war although the book itself took place in more modern times.  Again, animals played a little too much of a role in this story for my taste, but I will continue to read Martha Grimes.

I have read a lot of Agatha Christie over the years, but I had always kind of stayed away from her Tommy and Tuppence books.  I am not sure why.  The Secret Adversary was the first of this series, and I have to admit that I really enjoyed it a lot.  I will read more of their stories. I liked the relationship the two of them had — quite unusual for 1922, I would imagine.

I have already written a little about On Basilisk Station.  I really enjoyed it.  I liked the main character, a female naval officer.  I will definitely read more of Weber‘s work, including more with Honor Harrington.

I am already almost finished with my first July book.  I am aiming for 7 books this month.  Let’s see how I do.

One thought on “June Reading

Leave a Reply

