Learning from TED: July 22, 2013

Pico Iyer addresses the question I have asked before: Where is home?  He says:

And for more and more of us,home has really less to do with a piece of soil than, you could say, with a piece of soul.

Where have I heard that before?

And he also says:

Where you come from now is much less important than where you’re going. More and more of us are rooted in the future or the present tense as much as in the past. And home, we know, is not just the place where you happen to be born. It’s the place where you become yourself.

I have loved Iyer’s writing since I first discovered him in 2000.  I haven’t read any of his travel writing since I stopped traveling.  It was too hard; I missed traveling too much.  I still miss it.  But I enjoyed this talk.

Iyer calls on us to move, to travel but also to be still.  He says we need stillness in order to find our true homes.

But I do think it’s only by stopping movement that you can see where to go. And it’s only by stepping out of your life and the world that you can see what you most deeply care about and find a home.

Again, Iyer seems to be supporting the idea that home is not a place but the things you care about.

Movement is a fantastic privilege, and it allows us to do so much that our grandparents could never have dreamed of doing. But movement, ultimately,only has a meaning if you have a home to go back to. And home, in the end, is of course not just the place where you sleep. It’s the place where you stand.

This seems so obvious to me.  How is that not everyone sees it that way?

So what did I learn?  Maybe just that I am not crazy.  And that’s good enough for me!

One thought on “Learning from TED: July 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

