October Reading

I managed to finish seven books this month.

  • In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner by Elizabeth George was an old book by one of my favorite authors.  I always enjoy her books.  It was another Inspector Lynley novel.  There are few better mystery writers, in my opinion, than Elizabeth George
  • Everyone Dies by Michael McGarrity was a fun read.  McGarrity lives in and writes about New Mexico, and I really enjoy his books.  This one was especially fun because I knew the places he was talking about.  His main character is a cop, now Police Chief in Santa Fe.
  • Bad Monkey by Carl Hiaasen.  What more do I need to say.  Hiaasen is hilarious!  I really enjoyed this book.
  • Just a Geek by Wil Wheaton was a book I have intended to read for a long time and just now finally got around to it.  I used to read Wheaton’s blog and knew I would enjoy the book.  It is, as far as I can tell anyway, very honest.  If you haven’t read it, please do.
  • The Endurance: Shackleton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition by Caroline Alexander was interesting to me because it provided more information about a subject I was already very interested in: Shackleton’s trip to the Antarctic.  The author used journals of the men who accompanied Shackleton, providing more insight into the man and the trip.  I recommend it if you are interested in the topic at all.
  • Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a quick, easy read.  I haven’t read a lot of Sherlock Holmes, and I enjoyed this set of stories.
  • Roads Not Taken edited by Gardner Dozois and Stanley Schmidt was a series of alternate history short stories.  A lot of alternate history seems to focus on war, and this collection was no exception.  I enjoyed the other stories more just because I am not into reading about World War II.

It was, as I had hoped, a good month for reading.  I have finished my first November book already and can’t wait to start on another one!

Leave a Reply

