November Reading

I finished five books this month:

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor  was the first one I read — and definitely the best.  Sotomayor does a wonderful job of telling the story of her early life, leaving the reader before she is appointed to the Supreme Court.  I was really impressed. 

Dust by Martha Grimes  was a hard read for me for some reason.  My husband would say that it was because Grimes in British, but I don’t think that was it.  It was more that I am starting not to like her detective, Richard Jury.  The mystery was OK, though. 

The Coldest War by Ian Tregillis is one I have been going to read for a couple years now, and I am glad I finally got around to it.  Tregillis’ first novel, Bitter Seeds, was a very dark book — very unlike Tregillis himself, and it took a lot to read.  this book, the sequel, was not nearly as dark, and I think it told a more interesting story.  It is an alternate World War II-based Cold War novel. Tregillis dida great job with it.

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris was almost too much for me.  His humor is great much of the time but sometimes reaches a point I don’t find funny.  I especially like #2 to Go, a story of food in China.  It was, as my husband said, almost too accurate.

Dark Currents by Lindsay Buroker is the second Emperor’s Edge book.  I loved it.  When I read these I find myself unsure about when they are supposed to be taking place, but it is never enough to put me off the story.  I got the first book free, and gladly paid for this one.  I will be buying the others soon.  It’s fantasy but not so complicated that I get lost.  (I am sure that says more about me than about fantasy books!)  I think you’ll enjoy these books if you give them a try.

 

So, I didn’t get my six books read this month.  Let’s see about December!

Leave a Reply

