December Reading

I guess it is past time to actually blog about my December reading.

Daughter of the Middle Border by Hamlin Garland was a very good book.  I wasn’t expecting it to be that good.  It is probably because I know the area of the country he talks about.  It was fascinating to read about the people that he knew, writers I have read and enjoyed. 

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins was great.  I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I certainly enjoyed the book.  I have the third one to read in a week or two.  I find that I sometimes prefer to have a little break between books in a series; I am too quick to spot inconsistencies if it is all fresh in my mind.  It has been a couple years since I read Hunger Games and a year, I guess, since I saw the movie; that’s plenty of time to not make comparisons.

Homeland by Cory Doctorow was in some ways a sequel to Little Brother, which I loved.  My husband had told me that this book was better, and I have to say I agree with him.  It was very timely.  Some of the issues Doctorow discussed, like the government using our webcams to spy on us, seemed like they came right off the front page of the newspaper.  But the book was published almost a year ago.

“Live from Cape Canaveral” by Jay Barbree was fascinating!  Of course, I was around to observe the events he describes: the US space program from the late 1950s until the early 2000s.  I really enjoyed it and I learned a lot.

The King’s Speech by Mark Logue and Peter Conradi was another great book.  I didn’t see that movie, either, but the book was very informative and interesting.  It was very well written and easy to read.

And that was my month! 

Leave a Reply

