January Reading

I had hoped to finish three works in each of my three categories last month, but I missed by about 100 pages.  What I got read was the following:

  1. The Loss of the S.S. Titanic:Its Story and Its Lessons, By One of the Survivors by Lawrence Beesley was quite interesting.  Written soon after the disaster took place, it does not romanticize it at all. Beeseley explains how people did or did not get on lifeboats.  He praises those who did their duties to the end.  It was a book worth reading.
  2. Teach Like a Champion: 49 Techniques that Put Students on the Path to College by Doug Lemov was inspiring at times and infuriating at others.  It is a little too bean-counter in its approach to some things — like not “wasting” time — for my tastes.  But I also feel like I learned a lot.  I saw some of the things I do in the classroom in a new light.  Overall, I think it was worth my time even as I approach the end of my career as an educator.  I am consciously trying to implement some of his techniques, and I am aware of when I do things that go against them.  My consciousness has been raised, and I think that is about all I want to ask for in a book.  I would like to make a comment, though.  I borrowed this book from a colleague who received it from the school where he used to work.  As I look on Amazon, I see that the Kindle version costs $19.16, as opposed to $ 20.17 for the paperback.  I would NOT buy this book for that reason alone.
  3. Sea of Glory: America’s Voyage of Discovery, The U.S. Exploring Expedition 1838-1842 by Nathaniel Philbrick was every bit as good as his book about the Essex. I was not aware of my interest in naval history until I started reading Philbrick’s books!

Novels

  1. The Grave Maurice by Martha Grimes was, I think, my favorite Grimes book so far.  Granted I have only read three or four, and all of them were from her Richard Jury series, but this one was really good. I liked Jury better in this book than in the others.
  2. Never Buried by Edie Claire was one I got for free from the Kobo bookstore.  It is the first in her Leigh Koslow series.  I will admit to being surprised at the end.  It was a fun, easy read.

Short Fiction

  1. “Dandy Detects” by M. Louisa Locke is a short story based on a series of books the author has written.  This was an easy read and worth my time.
  2. “Salvage in Space” by Jack Williamson was a fun read.  I haven’t read many of Williamson’s work, and this was the first of his short stories I had read.  I enjoyed it a lot.  Williamson is one of the main reasons I decided to “allow” myself to read short fiction this year.
  3. Flash Gold by Lindsay Buroker is a novella by the author of the Emperor’s Edge series.  I really enjoyed this a lot.  I haven’t done so yet, but I plan to get and read all of her work.
Leave a Reply

