Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

March Reading

Well, it is a little late, but I am finally ready to report on my reading last month.

I read two non-fiction books:

  • The Templars: The History and the Myth by Michael Haag was an interesting book, but it went a little farther back in the history of the Templars than I think it had to.  And perhaps it spent a little more time on the myths than it needed to.  But I would recommend it to anyone interested in the topic.
  • 1001 People Who Made America by Alan Axelrod was fascinating as much for the people it didn’t include as for the people it did.  The selection was a bit unexpected, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. Because there is only a paragraph about each of the people, the book is a jumping off point for learning about them; further research would be necessary before pretending to know about these figures.

It was a little better month for novels:

  • Calculated in Death by JD Robb kept me guessing.  But somehow it didn’t grab me the way mysteries usually do.  This was the first book I had ever read by JD Robb/Nora Roberts, and it may be the last.  I know I am probably not being fair, but with so many books out there, I can afford to be picky!
  • Murder on the Mind by LL Bartlett was actually pretty good.  the main character, Jeff Resnick, was interesting.  I got the ebook free, but I might actually pay for others in the series.  I liked the family dynamics with the character’s brother, even though parts of it were a little odd.
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins was very different from the other books in the series.  My son gave up in the middle of the book because it was too focused on politics, but that didn’t bother me. I had heard that this book wasn’t as good as the other two even before my son stopped reading it, and I am inclined to agree.  But it was still worth the time it took to read it.  And the money I paid to buy it!

I added a new category this month: short story collections.

  • Selections from The Improbable Adventures of Sherlock Holmes edited by John Joseph Adams was something I downloaded from the Baen Free Library.  This was a great book.  I loved the different takes on the basic Sherlock Holmes story.  This isn’t the complete book, but it contained 8 stories.
  • The Nick Adams Stories by Ernest Hemingway were a good read.  I am not much of a Hemingway fan, but these stories gave me a little more insight into the man and into his writing.  Most of the stories are not full-blown stories but rather parts of stories.  I appreciated the opportunity to get that glimpse into Hemingway’s process.

And then there were the individual pieces of short fiction:

  •  “Shadows over Innocence” by Lindsay Buroker was a prequel to the Emperor’s Edge series, and I really liked it.  I like the characters and the stories.
  • The Pygmy Planet” by Jack Williamson was another good story.  When you think about when Williamson was writing, his stories are even more impressive.  This one seemed a little more dated than others I have read, but it was still good.
  • A Prize for Edie” by Jesse Franklin Bone is, as the review on Amazon says, a little dated, but it was good.  It focuses on our love.hate relationship with technology.  I enjoyed it a lot.

So it was a good month for reading.  Better than it looks like April will be!

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

