Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

May Reading

It was a good month for reading — I spent 40 hours in the car as a passenger with nothing else much to do!

I read two non-fiction books, both of them excellent:

Affection and Trust: The Personal Correspondence of Harry S Truman and Dean Acheson 1953-1971 by Harry S. Truman, Dean Acheson, Dr. Ray Geselbracht and David C. Acheson  was an extremely interesting book.  I knew little about Truman — somehow history I studied in school, even in university, seldom made it past D-Day.  I was struck by how little the world has changed.  I was also interested to not the changing nature of the correspondence as the men grew older.  Dealing with aging parents and having noticed a gradual change in my focus over the last couple years, this was both sad and instructive.

You Can’t Be Neutral on a Moving Train by Howard Zinn was another fascinating book.  I have admired Zinn ever since reading his People’s History of the United States, but I didn’t really know much about his life.  This book filled in the gaps.  I admire the man even more now.

 

I read a lot of novels.  They didn’t require a lot of concentration, so I could help navigate as we went down the road.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card was a book my son had been trying to get me to read for years, and now I am only sad it took me so long to do so.  I can see why it is so popular.  The story was great, and the writing was excellent.  I will read the others in the series now.

The Absinthe Cloud by Timothy Everhart was a fun read.  Lots of anarchists.  There is at least one more book featuring the same two main characters, and I will probably read it. I enjoyed being taken back to France in 1900, a world I know little about.

The Invisible Man by HG Wells  — How old am I and I had never read that book?   I enjoyed it, although at times it got a little tedious.  I am glad to have read it.

My anthology for the month was  Selections from Brave New Worlds edited by John Joseph Adams, which I got from the Baen Free Library.  This book was not as interesting to me as others of these collections have been.  (Even the vampires look good by comparison!) But most of the stories were interesting.

Short fiction for the month included the following:

The Adventure of the Cardboard Box” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a good story.  According to one review on Amazon, the story was considered to controversial for young readers and was, therefore not included in a collection of Holmes stories.  It is, of course, pretty tame.  But I enjoyed it a lot.

Reign of the Gila Monster by L. Ron Hubbard was not my usual kind of book; it was a western.  But it was fun to read.  Several years ago I was at a conference and received several of Hubbard’s books.  this was one of them, and it took me until now to read it.

Paydown by Nick Stephenson was a nice intro to an interesting character, Leopold Blake.  I will definitely check out more of this series.

On the Good, Red Road” by Blake Crouch was the first thing by Crouch that I have read.  It was a good story, and I enjoyed the writing.  Again, it wasn’t my usual subject matter, but I am glad I read it.

So now it is June.  It promises to be a busy month.  Let’s see how it goes, reading-wise!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

