February Reading

I read a lot last month, but I got busy and haven’t posted about it until now.

The only non-fiction book I read was #Houston70: The Miracle Journey of Apollo 13 by Phillip Gibson.  It is the second book like this by Gibson that I have read.  I really enjoy the format – presenting history in a series of tweets.  It makes the event accessible to almost anyone, I think.

I read a few novels.

Calamity by Bob B. Bernstein was a good detective story.  I enjoyed the fact that the detective was a boat captain, too.  This was, as are most of the books I read anymore, a book I got for free for the Kindle app.  I would have been willing to pay for it, though!

Killer Cupcakes by Leighann Dobbs was another free ebook.  It is a romance/mystery and a very light read.  I enjoyed it a lot, though; the story was good.

Maids of Misfortune: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery is the second thing I have read by M. Louisa Locke.  I liked this because the story was good and also because it  gives a pretty good picture of like in San Francisco in the late 1800s.

Double Ugly by Jim Murray was a much better book than I expected it to be.  It took a while to get into it, but once I did, it was really good.  The main character, an Irish policeman, gets a heart transplant that changes his life in many ways.  It is a mystery — a little darker than I usually read, but good.

I read a lot of short stories, old ones but well worth the time.   I recommend them all.

  • “2br02b” by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
  • “The Man with the Twisted Lip” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • “The Adventure of the Crooked Man” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • “The Mystery of the Solitary Cyclist” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • “All Cats Are Gray” by Andre Norton
  • “The Gallery”  by Rog Phillips
  • “Mr. Wong Rights a Wrong” by M. Louisa Locke

Also, I started listening to audiobooks in the car this last month.  I downloaded them from Librivox.org.  I recommend all of them.

  • The Amethyst Box by Anna Katherine Green
  • Boston Blackie by Jack Boyle
  • The Man Who Fell through the Earth by Carolyn Wells

I especially enjoyed The Man Who Fell through the Earth.

Leave a Reply

