May Reading

May was an odd month for reading.  I listened to a lot of audio books because I spent a lot of time in the car.  I started reading a lot of books early in the month, but I couldn’t focus on them enough to finish them until the end of the month.  But the important part, for me, is that I ended up getting a fair amount of reading done.

There were two non-fiction books that I read this month.

  • I, Bipolar by D.S. Black was a somewhat disturbing read, but I am glad I read it.  This is the story of a young man who is bipolar.  It shed some light on a disease that several people I know have been diagnosed with.  I am glad that Mr. Black was able to write the book and willing to share his story with anyone who was interested to read it.  I wish him well in the future.
  • The Book of Five Rings by Musashi Miyamoto was a book I had wanted to read for a long time.  I had heard about it as I was doing research for the novel, but I couldn’t find it.  Finally I found a free ebook edition, and I read it.  It has proven to be quite valuable as I am rewriting fight scenes, especially.  The book might not have a lot of appeal to most people, but it was quite interesting to me.

As for novels, I read quite a few.

  • Give the Dog a Bone by Leslie O’Kane was a good story.  It was a complete surprise — but not for any normal reasons.  I got the book Death Comes e-Calling free from Amazon.  At least I thought I did.  What I really got was Give the Dog a Bone. (I couldn’t figure out what the title of the book had to do with the story!  Guess I’m a little slow! )  I enjoyed this book, though, and will probably read more by O’Kane in the future.
  • Murder on the Page by Kennedy Chase was good, but think I needed some back story to really understand what was going on in some places.  How did Harley get to be a finder?  It seemed a little improbable from what I learned in this book.  Overall, though, it was a good story.
  • Out of the Past by Renée Pawlish was a great story.  It was filled with deception, but Reed managed to figure it all out.  The film noir references were fun, too.  I’ll be reading more of this series.
  • Cuernavaca by Richard Perhacs was  probably my favorite book this month.  Perhacs obviously loves Mexico, warts and all.  The story was good, and it was told well.
  • Death by Betrayal by Jaden Skye was another very good story.  I really like Skye’s books.  The only problem I had with this one was that it need a proofreader.  A few typos are OK, but this had way to many.  Maybe I don’t have a final version of the book?  I don’t know.  I haven’t had this trouble with her stuff before.
  • Bound Bayou by David Cranford was a fascinating story about life in 1950.  While it mostly took place in Mississippi, it told a lot about England after the War, too.  It was a coming of age story unlike any other I have read.

The only short fiction I read last month was Detective: The European Quest to Find a Murderer by Johnny Scotland.  It was a gruesome story with an unhappy ending, but I cannot fault the writing at all.  It was actually very good.

And finally, the audiobooks.

  • The Big Time by Fritz Leiber
  • The Colors of Space by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • The City at World’s End by Edmond Hamilton
  • The Defiant Agents by Andre Norton
  • The Efficiency Expert by Edgar Rice Burroughs

I got all of them from librivox.org again.  All these stories were quite good.  The Big Time was a little hard to follow.  The others were great.  I especially liked The Colors of Space and The Defiant Agents.

So it ended up being a good month for reading.  I didn’t think it would be, but I am glad that it was.

Leave a Reply

