More on cloze activities

I have been playing around more with Notepad++ and making cloze activities for my students.  The first one, which I will probably do with them tomorrow, is a simple reading with only four present tense verbs removed.  There are, I think, 15 blanks for them to fill in.  I want to see if they can read and figure out the missing word from context.  I know I have done activities like this in the past but probably never with students at such a low level.  I am interested to see how it goes.

I didn’t follow Olga Sergeeva’s instructions exactly because I couldn’t make sense out of her regular expression string.  I just searched for each of the verbs I wanted to remove and did it manually.  And it was fine because there were only 4 verbs.  If I had been doing the 12 verbs she talks about, it would have been more work to do it the way I did this time.

I just looked at Sergeeva’s post again and copied the expression string and the explanation for it into a document so I have it on hand when I want to try this again.  It didn’t look so daunting this time.  I even tried it with another reading and it worked fine.  But I don’t think my students are ready for this one yet as we haven’t studied past tense yet really.  And 12 verbs is too many for them to get from context, I think.  I could be wrong, though.  I guess I’ll know more after I give them the first one I did.

I think what I will do instead is I will create my own string for just present tense forms of the verbs and see what happens.  That is probably the best thing to do at this point.  I like the idea of focusing on the 12 verbs she wrote about because they are so common in spoken English.  But with these particular students and especially since I am talking about a reading cloze, I think I need to limit it more than she did.

I am glad to be back teaching ESL and having this opportunity to learn from others.  I have missed that!

Leave a Reply

