Out with the old…

Yesterday was the last day of the ESL class I taught over the summer.  It was hard to say good-bye to the ladies. They have put in two hours a day Monday through Friday for two months on top of working 8-10 hour before class and sometimes returning to work after class.  I don’t know how they did it!

It was an interesting class to teach.  It was very structured.  I was given texts and a syllabus filled with requirements and told to teach.  The students (all women who work in the same factory) were at a variety of low levels.  Lack of confidence was the biggest problem for some while others really had almost no prior knowledge of English.

Yesterday, as they took their grammar final, I reviewed their portfolios.  And I have to say I was impressed!  They did a lot of work over the course of the summer.  Most of them had taken great care in organizing their portfolios, and I could see the pride on their faces as they handed them to me.  I wrote each of them a little note and stuck it in their portfolio.  At the end of class they were sharing those notes with their classmates.  It was a little thing, but it meant a lot to them.

I encouraged the women to sign up for classes through the local college now, but I understood when they told me they needed a break. They say they will sign up for the next term starting in October.  I hope they will.

Leave a Reply

