Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

Nothing to Celebrate

I have carefully not read or listened to any of the hype about the 10th anniversary of Katrina.  Today I made an exception.  I read a post called KATRINAVERSARY BLUES: OF RESILIENCE TOURS, CARPETBLOGGERS & DISASTER TOURISTS.  And I am glad I did.  The author, Adrastros, starts the post with:

The hype behind the 10th anniversary of Katrina and the subsequent flood reminds me of a flock of turkey buzzards circling the city in search of carrion.

It’s another photo op.  It has nothing to do, really, with the disaster that was, and in some ways, still is Katrina.

I did not live in New Orleans during Katrina.  I lived on the North Shore, where all we had to deal with was the hurricane itself.  We stayed during the storm and felt the 100 foot tall pine trees fall all around our house.  We lost power and had no water.  But we did not suffer anything like they did in parts of the city.

We had it easy. We had lived without water and electricity before, and we could get water from the college where I worked.  My husband went back to work as soon as the roads were clear enough for him to get there, and I got paid while the college was closed. We did not lose our home. The only damage we suffered was a broken rear window on one of our cars.  But the experience of Katrina changed us forever.

My thoughts and prayers are with those who lived through Katrina and with those who did not make it.  We need to honor the people, not use their suffering and death for some personal or political advantage.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

