Update on picture prompts

A couple weeks ago now I wrote about the blog In Your Country and some picture prompts I had found there.   Since we had been talking about describing people, I gave both my beginning and intermediate classes the Who Own this Van prompt as homework.  We talked about the picture a little in class, and then I told them to write whatever story they wanted about the person who owned the van.  The beginners stuck pretty much to the ideas we discussed in class, but each person added their own little touches.  The intermediate class was more adventurous.  They wrote some really good stories.

I plan to use picture prompts again in class.  The potential is only limited by my own lack of imagination!

Leave a Reply

