September Reading

I am not sure what happened last month, but I read A LOT!!  So much so that I almost dread writing this post.  There is just too much to write about!  But I’ll get started at least.

I finished two non-fiction books in September.

  • Traveling with Che Guevara: The Making of a Revolutionary by Alberto Granado  was an excellent book.  I read The Motorcycle Diaries and watched the movie and loved them both.  This book added to my understanding of what Guevara and Granado learned on their journey and how it shaped them both.  Although this book is told from Granado’s perspective, Guevara is still the hero of the story.  I am glad I read it.
  • Dispatches from a Public Librarian by Scott Douglas was an interesting read.  It wasn’t very deep — some of the dispatches containing lists of things left in the return book bin and other such topics.  The book offered insight into the life of a librarian — both the good and the not so good.  It is a job I have always thought I might like.  Now I am not so sure.

I read four pieces of short fiction.

  • Daddy’s World ” by Walter Jon Williams was very good.  It kept me guessing as to what was going on and why until the end.  Williams is a good writer, and this was a good story.
  • “Clockwork Lives: The Bookseller’s Tale” by Kevin J. Anderson and Neil Peart was cool.  It is one of the stories from Clockwork Lives, which is billed on Amazon as “a steampunk Canterbury Tales“.   For the life of me, I cannot figure out how I got access to this story as I cannot find it in my Kindle or Kobo accounts.  But I read it and loved it.
  • I, Robot” by Cory Doctorow was fun to read.  I like Doctorow’s work.  This wasn’t my favorite of his short stories, but it was good.
  • In the Year 2889” by Jules Verne blew me away.  It basically foresaw Skype and the internet and almost everything else that is a regular part of our lives today.  Verne was amazing.  (Although speaking of Cory Doctorow, his short story “A Place So Foreign” offers a good explanation of how Verne could have gotten his ideas.)

I listened to three audiobooks, all downloaded from Librivox.org.

  • The Ball and the Cross by GK Chesterton was about two men who disagreed about God.  It is, of course, an old book, but it was a good story.  What I got out of it was that we should argue less and just get to know people.
  • Key Out of Time by Andre Norton was another great time travel book by Norton.  I loved it!
  • Armageddon 2419 A.D. by Philip Francis Nowlan was fascinating.  Written in 1928, it seems much more modern.  It is the original Buck Rogers story — before he was called Buck.  I didn’t know that until after I had finished it, though.  It was a good story.

I will leave a discussion of the novels I read until tomorrow.  I have work to get to now!

Leave a Reply

