Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

September Reading, Part 2

Well, time to start on the novels I read last month…

  • Aspen Allegations by Lisa Shea was an interesting story, but it had too much detail for my liking.  There was too much description of scenery. If I had gotten my copy from Amazon, I would maybe not have read it.  It is billed as “A ROMANTIC YOGA MYSTERY INFUSED BY NATURE” and that is just what it was.
  • Murder Under Construction by Maddie Cochere made me laugh.  And it was a good mystery.  It was a good cozy mystery.
  • Having read many other books by Jaden Skye, I expected Death by Honeymoon to be good, and it was.  It was better edited than many of the later ones in the series have been.  I liked the story.  I like the characters.  Knowing some of what happens later didn’t make it any less enjoyable.
  • Death Warmed Over by Kevin J. Anderson was definitely one of the best I read in September.  It was a good, old fashioned detective mystery with a good old fashioned detective who just happens to be a zombie.  It was a hoot!
  • I like British detective stories, and this one was no exception.  An Accidental Death by Peter Grainger was a good story.  DC Smith is an interesting character, and the mystery was a good one.  Very current.
  • Ties That Bind by Carolyn Arnold was a pretty good story.  I am not 100% sure I like the main character, Detective Madison Knight, though.  Her partner is a little odd, too, I think.  This was the first book in the series, and I read #4 before this one.  That may account for some of my discomfort with the characters.
  • Balanced on the Blade’s Edge by Lindsay Buroker is another book I would put right up there at or near the top of the list.  I love Buroker’s Emperor’s Edge series, and this was every bit as good.  I will be reading more of this series, too.
  • Farewell, My Deuce by Renée Pawlish is the fourth book in the Reed Ferguson series.  It is the third one I have read, I think.  I enjoy these a lot.  The mysteries are interesting.  Ferguson and his friends the Goofball Brothers are fun.  This one revolved around one of the Goofballs, and it was especially good, I thought.
  • The Red Ribbon by Rachel B. Ledge was another very good book.  The mystery was a good one.  The heroes were heroic and the villains were extremely villainous.  This appears to be Ledge’s first book.  I look forward to reading more of her work.
  • I have had The Gauguin Connection by Estelle Ryan in my Kobo library for a long time, and for some reason I had never read it.  I finally did, and I am glad.  It was a good book.  The mystery was an interesting one.  The cast of characters was diverse and somewhat mysterious at times.  I will read more of this series.
  • Ice on the Grapevine by R.E. Donald was a good book.  The author based her detective hero in part at least on her late husband, and he is a truly nice man.  The other characters in the book were flawed humans as we all are.  The least sympathetic character, really, was the guy who was killed, so you didn’t feel too bad.  The mystery was excellent.  There are 5 other books in the series, it seems.  I hope to read them all.
  • A Quest of Heroes by Morgan Rice came as a real surprise to me.  I often have trouble with fantasy novels because the authors do such an excellent job of world-building that I get lost.  They are too complicated for me.  This book was not that way at all.  I don’t mean that Rice didn’t put effort into world-building; she did.  But the story was engaging right from the start.  And that’s what makes a fantasy story work for me.  This one was definitely worth reading.  It was so good, in fact, that I immediately began reading A March of Kings, the second book in the series and finished it in one day.  But more about that when I write about my October reading!

I probably won’t read quite so much this month. At least that is how I am feeling right now.  But you never know!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

