Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

October Reading

October wasn’t as good as September as far as reading goes, but it wasn’t bad.  Here’s a rundown.

As usual, I only read one non-fiction book, The Martial Apprentice by Roy Dean.  It is the story of a young man who has studied a number of martial arts and is a pretty interesting comparison of the differences among them and among their practitioners.  I originally got it because I thought it would give me more insight into Japan, but his time in Japan is not a big part of the book. I kept reading it, though, because I enjoyed his insights.  You’d probably have to be interested in the martial arts for this book to be of interest to you.

I read two pieces of short fiction:

  • The Crystal Crypt” by Philip K. Dick kept my interest and surprised me at the end (Well, almost the end).  It is science fiction but almost more of a detective story, really. I enjoyed it.
  • Botchan by Natsume Soseki was another book read to expand my understanding of Japan. It is supposed to be a very popular novel in Japan.  Written in 1906, I am not sure if it is dated or not.  It didn’t really tell me a lot about Japan, I don’t think, but it was a good look at human nature.  I enjoyed it.

I listened to two audiobooks: The Dueling Machine by Ben Bova & Myron R. Lewis  and Plague Ship by Andre Norton.  I got both from Librivox, as usual.  I enjoyed them a lot.  I seem to listen to a lot of science fiction.  I read quite a bit from time to time, too.

Now for the novels.

  • A March of Kings by Morgan Rice is the second book in this series, which I started reading in September.  I am still really enjoying it.  This book was engaging and presented a world that was interesting and yet not so detailed that I ended up skimming over a lot of description.  I really enjoyed it.
  • Ruby Silver by Randall Reneau was a good book about a geologist and his partner who are trying to get a silver mine going again.  It is a mystery/thriller.  The author is a former geologist, so you actually learn something along the way.  It was a good book.  I wish I had read the first two in the series first, though.  I think it would have added to my understanding and appreciation.
  • Money Land by R.S. Guthrie was another great book.  I didn’t like it quite as much as Blood Land, the first in the series, but it was very good.  If you like Longmire, you’ll like these.
  • Under a Raging Moon by Frank Zafiro was almost too realistic for me.  It was a great book, really, but not a very happy one.  The blurb on Amazon says it is “like a paperback ride-along”, and it really is.
  • Enter the Janitor by Josh Vogt was an absolutely hilarious book.  The idea of a group of people keeping the evil in the world in its place isn’t that unique, but you have never read one like this! I highly recommend it if you have any interest in this kind of book.
  • True Life Adventure by Julie Smith was a good story, but the characters didn’t grab me the way some of her others have.  It took me most of the book to get a clear picture of the main character in my head, so it was a little bit of a struggle to care about him.  Once I got the picture, though, the story really kept me interested.
  • A Fate of Dragons by Morgan Rice was another in Rice’s Sorcerer’s Ring series.  This one was every bit as good as the first two.  I enjoyed it so much that I have started on the 4th book.

So that’s it.  Not a great month, but not too shabby, either.  Not sure how November will shape up; I feel like I am off to a slow start.  But you never know!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

