Update on the writing

I am happy to report that I have been busy working on the novels. My son and I worked out some details that we needed to in the first book, and while I am waiting for him to complete the final fight scene, I am back to work on the second book.  I have actually written over 8000 words in just over a week.

I have to credit one of the books I read this month, Killing the Top Ten Sacred Cows of Publishing by Dean Wesley Smith, with encouraging me to really get going on this again.  He breaks the writing of a novel down into words per day and days to completion. If you write 250 words a day, about 15 minutes a day, you’ll write a book in a year. That seemed real attainable to me. and it got me going.

He goes on to say

Oh, my, if I worked really, really hard and managed to get 30 minutes of writing in per day, I could finish two novels in a year.

Thirty minutes. That’s all it takes. So I have been trying to write for at least 30 minutes a day, every day. And it has been great.

I find myself getting stuck from time to time, not sure where the story is going. I then open my journal and start exploring the possibilities. Or I get up and take a break to think it through. But I come back to it. And so far it is working.

I am also learning to write scenes out of order with this book. I don’t know why I didn’t do it before — except by accident when I realized something I had already written didn’t really belong where it was. I am a pretty linear person, but this non-linear approach is making the writing easier.

This book has really opened my eyes about a lot of things. I recommend it to anyone who has gotten bogged down in their writing.

I am truly excited about writing again. And that makes me very happy.

One thought on “Update on the writing

Leave a Reply

