Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

December Reading

I thought about writing this post yesterday, but I had this fantasy that I would finish another book before midnight. But I didn’t. Oh well…

I only finished one short non-fiction book last month: Killing the Top Ten Sacred Cows of Publishing by Dean Wesley Smith. I wrote earlier about the effects it had on my writing, and I am happy to report that I am still going strong with that. I am still not sure why this book had the power to get me going, but I am really glad that it did.

The only short story I read was “The Machine Stops” by E.M. Forster. It was actually a very good story.  I have not read much by him, but I think I will now.

I didn’t travel much by myself last month, so I only finished one audiobook: Kwaidan by Lafcadio Hearn. I am amazed at how many little ideas for the books that I got from it. I downloaded the free Kindle edition, too, so I could refer to it as I am writing.

Most of my reading this month was novels, of course.  I read quite a few!

Working Stiff by Kevin J. Anderson is a great collection of the cases of Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I. If the premise appeals to you, I promise you’ll love the book!

Deadly Games by Lindsay Buroker is the third Emperor’s Edge book.  Not sure why it took me so long to read this one. I loved it. Buroker is one of my favorite authors.

A Dangerous Road by Kris Nelscott was undoubtedly the best book I read last month. It is historical fiction / mystery.  Set in Memphis in 1968, it gave me more insight into the sanitation workers’s strike than I had as an 18 year-old living in Illinois. And the mystery itself was fascinating. I want to read more in this series.

Huckleberry Fiend by Julie Smith was the second Paul McDonald book by Smith. As I said when I wrote about the first book, I am not as crazy about this character as I am about her other characters. The book was good, though.

The Dante Connection by Estelle Ryan was another excellent book. I love the main character, Genevieve Lenard. She is smart. She is socially challenged but manager to gather a loyal group of people around her as she solves the mysteries. There are 8 books in this series, and I hope to read them all.

Queen of Starlight by Jessa Slade was more romance than science fiction, but it had enough of both to keep my interest. I am not usually a reader of romance, but this had a really good story that kept me reading.  That being said, I probably won’t seek out the other books in the series. Not because they won’t be good — I am sure they will be — but because it just isn’t my genre.

A Grant of Arms and A Sky of Spells by Morgan Rice were the next two in the Sorcerer’s Ring series, and I am still loving it. The characters are growing and developing as they move through their very well-written adventures. I am definitely going to read this entire series.

Slow Curve on the Coquihalla by R.E. Donald is actually the first book in this series about a former Mountie who has become a truck driver. I read book 2 in the series, Ice on the Grapevine, in September. These are good books, interesting mysteries. This one was a little more obvious to me than Ice had been, so it means that the third and fourth books in the series will probably be even better! I know I am going to read them.

A Cutthroat Business by Jenna Bennett was a cute story. Well, maybe cute isn’t the right word. There is a lot of murder and mayhem, but it takes place off camera so it doesn’t really detract from the cuteness of the story. I admit I knew who the bad guy was early, but it didn’t really detract from my enjoyment of it. And it was nice to be proven right at the end! I am going to read more in this series, I’m sure.

So it was a good month for reading.  Let’s see how this month goes!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

