January reading, part 2

Well, class went pretty well, and I am back to continue with my reading list for last month.

Mysteries and Thrillers:

  • The Clue by Carolyn Wells is a very old book, but that didn’t detract from the story. Wells was a very good writer! It was a good mystery without all the extra stuff that is so common in today’s mysteries.
  • Eleven by Carolyn Arnold is the story of a new FBI agent who has his hands full with a wife who calls him at work, a former girlfriend who works with him every day, a boss who seems determined to see him fail and a killer who seems to have targeted him. It was a good story and kept my interest. I am not sure I liked the FBI agent, though; he seemed a little whiny.
  • Waist Deep by Frank Zafiro is a great book. Stefan Kopriva used to be a cop, but that was a long time ago. He is down on his luck until an old school acquaintance asks him to investigate the disappearance of his daughter. I highly recommend this book!

Science Fiction

  • Parley by Jamie McFarlane is the third book in this series but the first one I have read. That lack of background knowledge was not a problem, though. The story was a good one and there was just enough mention of past events to make the present understandable. I will read more of these books.
  • Dark Space, #1 by Jasper T. Scott was another good book. There were lots of twists and turns, more than there are in some scifi books.  On Amazon it is listed as being for grades 6-12, but it didn’t read that way at all to me. I really enjoyed it. The only problem I had with it was my fault; I started reading it and Parley at the same time. I got really confused! Two space operas at the same time was too much to keep straight!
  • Second Star by Dana Stabenow was a great story. I think part of why I liked it so much is that the main character is 41 years old. She has the emotions and experiences and life of an almost middle-aged woman. For me as a past middle-aged woman, it was fun. I think too many of the books I read are about people in their 20s and 30s. Nothing wrong with that, but a different perspective is sometimes nice. Of course, people in this world live to be over a hundred, so 41 is not middle age there! This book is much better than it sounds from my description here. I hope you will give it a try.

I really enjoyed these science fiction books. I don’t think I have ever read three in one month before! I used to focus primarily on mysteries, but I find science fiction and fantasy are much more interesting to me these days. I think part of it may be the somewhat happier endings; people die, but it is usually only the  bad guy. I don’t know. We’ll see how this plays out in February!

OK, it’s getting late and I have to get up early tomorrow. I still have three categories to cover. I’ll try to get them done in the next day or two.

Leave a Reply

