Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

January reading, part 3

OK, back for the last installment.

Fantasy

These were both good books. As I have said before, they are easy to read — something that I cannot say about all fantasy books.  I have hesitated to read book 12 in the series because it introduces new characters, and I am kind of partial to the ones I already know, but I think I will start on it here soon anyway.  I really cannot recommend this series too highly. Please consider reading it if you are even remotely interested in fantasy.

 Historical Fiction

  • The Sword of the Ronin by Travis Heermann was a book I got because it was presented as accurately depicting life in 13th century Japan. I read it as more research for the novels. It was good. And from what I know, I think the author did a good job.  The book contained some fantasy elements, mythological creatures. It made me feel pretty good about our books. But research aside, I enjoyed the book. It was a pretty well-told story.  It is the second book in a trilogy.
  • Song at Dawn by Jean Gill was another good story. It takes place in 12th century Europe.  I loved this book.  There was mystery, intrigue, romance, and a lot of history. This is the first in a series of three books, I believe. I hope to read them all.  (I just bought the second one, so prepare to read about it here next month!)

Audiobooks

Again, more research. These audiobooks from Librivox gave me a lot of good insight and details that I have been able to include in the books my son and I are writing.  I found the books fascinating.

So that’s it for January. I’ve already finished 2 books this month, so I am off to a good start. Check back in a month to see how it went.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

