April Reading

Not as much reading got done in April, but I am still happy with it!

I only read one non-fiction book last month, Hormones in Harmony by Deborah Maragopolous.  It was an interesting book, about how hormone imbalance can lead to lots of health issues. Of course, the author is trying to sell you her products, so the book is a little like an infomercial.  But if you don’t get turned of by that, there is a lot of good information in the book.  I don’t know how many people would be interested in it, but I thought it was worth reading.

I read four mysteries:

  • A Fatal Twist of Lemon by Patrice Greenwood was a good read. It was a little predictable, but I didn’t mind. The protagonist put all her money into a new business, only to have someone murdered there before it is even really open for business. It had the requisite handsome cop to help the protagonist solve the case. It had enough little twists and turns to make it interesting. I think you would like it if you like “cozy” mysteries.
  • Rosemary’s Gravy by Melissa F. Miller was similar in some ways to A Fatal Twist of Lemon and to most cozy mysteries. The personal chef is under suspicion of having murdered her client with food she is allergic to.  There is a cop who tries to help her. It was an easy read, and I enjoyed it.
  • Bring It by Seeley James was the second in the Pia Sabel series. I liked the first one better than this one, but I am not sure why.  I think the story was too convoluted. And I didn’t care too much for one of the main characters. But I will keep reading the series because Pia is an interesting person.
  • Code Blues by Melissa Yi was a good book.  The author is a doctor, so she is in a great position to write medical mysteries. I enjoyed the book a lot. Some of the characters were a little much, but not so much that I had to stop reading. I would like to read more by Melissa Yi.

I read three speculative novels:

  • Accord of Honor and Accord of Mars by Kevin McLaughlin were both really good books.  They deal with the question of who gets to control space and how they come to control it. An accord is only good if everyone abides by it, and that is always iffy. People can choose to ignore the accord for good or bad reasons, but they are sure to violate it.  The main characters are larger than life — and incredibly lucky. But I enjoyed reading these books and look forward to the next in the series, which is due out this month.
  • Requiem’s Song by Daniel Arenson was wonderful. The idea of people turning into dragons was fascinating. Many reviewers on Amazon thought it was too dark or the characters weren’t developed enough or something, but I didn’t have trouble with it on either account. Yes, it paints a kind of black and white world, but it was still an interesting world, peopled by interesting characters. I’ll read more in this series.

I read three books of historical fiction:

  • Mercenary by David Gaughran is one of those books that I read because it takes place in places I know, in this case Honduras and other parts of Central America. While I started it for that reason, I finished it because it was a good book. I cannot say I really liked the main character, but he certainly was remarkable.I would be very interested in reading other books by Gaughran.
  • Sea Witch by Helen Hollick kept me interested through 360 pages. But how could it not? A pirate story with a witch in it? Heaven! I have the second book in the series, Pirate Code, and I expect to read it her every soon.
  • Bloody Lessons by M. Louisa Locke was another in her Victorian San Francisco series, and I very much enjoyed it. Annie Fuller isn’t your typical widow, but she is a very interesting character, as all her friends. I have enjoyed every book I have read in this series, and this was no exception.

I listened to two audiobooks:

I enjoyed them both a great deal.

And here it is May 3. Let’s see what happens this month!

Leave a Reply

