Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

May Reading

Here goes!

I only read one non-fiction book – Spiritual Evolution: Examining Blocks, Expand Your Vision and Navigating Your Way to Happiness by Daniel Houtman.  I have to admit, I don’t remember much about it.  He talks about our life on earth being a chance to learn what we need to learn for the future, something I believe, so much of the book resonated with me.  It is a short book.  I remember that it seemed to fit with a lot of the mediation I have been doing lately.

I read three mysteries:

  • New Orleans Mourning by Julie Smith was a good story.  It was filled with complications – those of old southern families and those peculiar to New Orleans.  It offers good insight into the hierarchy of the Krewes.  I recommend this book highly.
  • Elections and Consequences by C.M. Carleton was another good one.  It is the story of an attorney in Kentucky, written by an attorney in Kentucky.  It is a pretty good picture of politics in a small, closed community. I enjoyed the book a lot and will definitely read the other three books in the series.
  • Dead Line by Jack Patterson was a book that I shouldn’t have liked, but I did.  The main character is a sports writer, and the story takes place around the Super Bowl — not anything I would imagine enjoying.  But the sports angle is just the hook; the main story is so much bigger and better than that.  While Cal Murphy seems to be given too much of a role in solving a very big case, you can suspend disbelief enough to enjoy the story because it is so fast-paced; you don’t really have time to think about it. This is the second book in the series.  I will be reading the others.

Most of my time was spent reading speculative fiction, mostly fantasy this month.

  • The Destroyer by Michael-Scott Earle was a very interesting book.  It is dark and . As the main character gets his memories back, there are flashbacks that may be a bit confusing.  The sex scenes are explicit and seem a bit gratuitous. But I enjoyed the book.  As many of the reviewers on Amazon noted, the other books in the series, especially the third and fourth, are priced a little high for my budget, so I may not read more in the series for that reason.
  • Torrent by Lindsay Buroker was the first in this series by Buroker, one of my favorite authors. I really enjoyed it.  The main character, Delia, was an archaeology major and she managed to find a use for her degree that pays the bills — at least sort of most of the time.  It was a fun story, and I expect to read the rest of the series.
  • Murder of Crows by Annie Bellet is the second book in her Twenty-Sided Sorceress series.  I enjoyed it every bit as much as I enjoyed the first one, Justice Calling.  In this one we learn more about Jade’s birth family. It is an interesting story.
  • Pack of Lies by Annie Bellet is the third book in the series.  It offers more insight into the Justices, the beings that are supposed to keep the peace among the supernatural beings. I enjoyed this one a lot, too.  I will probably end up reading the rest of the series eventually.
  • Follow the Crow by B. B. Griffith is billed as a thriller, but I saw it more as speculative fiction.  The paranormal outweighed the thrill, for me at least. The story was a good one, if a little confusing at times.  Some reviewers on Amazon had trouble with his representation of Navajo life, but I am ignorant enough that I can say it wasn’t a problem for me. Maybe it should have been, but it wasn’t.  I agree with some reviewers that there was no real reason the book had to take place among the Navajo, and it looks like the second book in the series doesn’t. I think I will try the second book at some point in time.

I only read one historical fiction book — A Fragile Peace by Paul Bannister. It was an excellent book about King Arthur.  It is the fifth book in the series but I had no trouble starting with this one. Bannister really makes this time period come alive.

As for audiobooks, I listened to The Demon Awakens by R.A. Salvatore. I listened to it in three parts, done by Graphic Audio.  The audio productions were wonderful.  The story by Salvatore is amazing.  My son had been trying for years to get me to read his books, and now that I have listened to this one, I can’t wait to read more!

So I think that was my reading for May.  It was a pretty good month!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

