June reading, part 1

I got a lot of reading done last month, so here is a start on the list!

First, the mysteries:

  • The Flinck Connection by Estelle Ryan is the 4th book in this series, which I am trying to read in order.  I really love Dr. Genevieve Lenard! If you haven’t read any of these books, I cannot recommend them highly enough. The characters are wonderful and the stories are very well told.
  • Death by Lotto 5 by Abigail Keam was a little bit of a disappointment to me.  I really enjoyed Death by A Honeybee, the first book in the series, but this one didn’t have the same appeal.  It could be because I didn’t read the three books in between.  Whatever the reason, it was an OK book – not bad but not anything I got real excited about.
  • Murder in the South of France by Susan Kiernan-Lewis is the first in this series but the third one I have read.  It maybe took away some of the suspense about Laurent, but there were no real problems with reading this one so out of order. The series is quite enjoyable.
  • Shot of Tequila by J.A. Konrath has been in my Kindle account since 2011, but I just now got around to reading it.  All in all, I have to say I enjoyed it. I don’t think I am really the demographic for this book, but it had enough appeal that I never questioned finishing it. I like the main character, Jack Daniels, so I will probably try to read more of the series.
  • The One You Love by Paul Pilkington is another book I’ve had for a long time but had never read until now.  It was a good read. It was darker than most of the books I read anymore, but I enjoyed it. I don’t know if I will read the others in the series or not, just because it is dark, but if you are more into thrillers than I am these days, you would probably enjoy them.

The non-fiction book I read was Harry Truman: The Man Who Divided the World by Jack Steinberg. It was nothing spectacular, but for a quick, easy peek into the life of Truman, it was OK. My main objection was the inclusion of entire speeches in the text; excerpts and then more discussion would have been better for me.  It was a little superficial.

The only historical fiction I read was Light of the Western Stars by Zane Gray. It was one I had purchased back when my dad got his kindle and didn’t know how to purchase books for it.  I walked him through the process over the phone by buying a free book that he was interested in. It worked. And I finally got around to actually reading it. My dad always talked about what a great writer Zane Grey was, and I always nodded my head. But after reading this book, I am definitely going to read more. He was a very good writer! This book, taking place in my part of the world, was especially interesting.

The only audiobook I listened to last month was The Demon Spirit by R.A. Salvatore.  It was excellent! I am a good ways into the next book in the series now.

No time now to do justice to the fantasy and sci fi books I read last month, so I’ll come back and discuss them later.

Leave a Reply

