Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

July reading, part 2

On to the mysteries and thrillers!

I read a lot of them last month:

  • The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie is a classic, of course.  I may have read it 30 or 40 years ago when I got on an Agatha Christie kick, but I certainly didn’t remember the story. It was a good one. I didn’t know until I just got the link off Amazon that this was the first Poirot book. Maybe I will try to read them in order. That would keep me busy for a while! I am sure anyone reading this post is familiar with Christie’s mysteries, but if not, you should check them out at once.
  • Tin God by Stacy Green was a good book. Some reviewers on Amazon didn’t like the main character, but I found her to be someone I could relate to – although our lives bear no resemblance. As is true of many of the places I have lived, including the South, everyone is connected to everyone else, so things get a little messy from time to time. It confused me a little at first, trying to keep it all straight in my head! I hope you’ll give this book a try.
  • An Aria of Omens by Patrice Greenwood is actually the third book in this series, of which I had only read the first one, but that wasn’t a problem. The story definitely stands well on its own and doesn’t even provide too many spoilers about what happens in the second book. I like this series because it takes place in Santa Fe, and even though I am not part of that New Mexico by any stretch of the imagination, it is fun to read about. I know lots of people who go to the Opera and would fit right in these stories. Some reviewers on Amazon didn’t like the ending, but it didn’t bother me. These are fun books to read!
  • Raspberry Jam by Carolyn Wells is an old book, but I enjoyed it. I hadn’t realized just how old the book was until just now. Wells died in 1942, having been born during the Civil War, so it is no wonder that her “science” is a little dated! It is a locked room mystery, and Fleming Stone and his assistant are finally able to solve it. It was a fun, easy read.
  • The Grave  Man by David Archer is the first book in this series, and I am really sold on it! Sam Prichard, a medically retired cop turned PI, is a likable character and the story was good. Many reviewers on Amazon weren’t so happy with it, though, so I cannot guarantee you will be. But I hope you will give it a try.
  • Death Sung  Softly by David Archer is the second book in the series. I am trying to read them in order, but that may not happen. I got the first three free, so I know I will read the third book, but then the next one I got is 5, I think. We’ll see if I want to hold out and get 4 before I break down and read this one. This story makes Prichard out to be even more amazing – maybe almost too much. But he solves the case and he gets to live happily every after. I am going to keep reading these. I hope you will, too.
  • Mean Woman Blues by Julie Smith is another Skip Langdon book. #9, actually. I am reading them really out of order, but that’s OK. I love Skip, and I love books about New Orleans. If you like female cop stories, you will love this series. This particular book was excellent, bringing an end – I hope – to one of the bad guys who have been plaguing Skip. But I’m not worried; I am sure there is someone else ready to take his place.

OK. That’s it for the mysteries and thrillers. I still have speculative fiction and non-fiction to cover.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

