Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

July reading, part 3

I read two non-fiction books last month:

  • The Coffee Date Guide to Freelance Journalism: A Step by Step Guide to Becoming a Freelance Writer by Leslie Patrick was an interesting book. It really got me thinking about freelance writing. It helped me come up with some ideas that I might pursue. But that is probably as far as I will go with it. It isn’t the book’s fault; it was very encouraging and informative. I am just lazy, I guess.  But if you want to pursue freelance writing, I recommend this book.
  • Weinberg on Writing: the Fieldstone Method by Gerald M. Weinberg was another encouraging, informative book. Weinberg’s suggestions were largely things I had already known about but, through laziness, had kind of forgotten about. I did many of the exercises in the book as I read it, and it was definitely useful.  As a result of reading this book, I have started a notebook of “fieldstones” – words, phrases and quotes that appeal to me on some level. I used to do that, getting the idea from Kim Stafford at a Southeastern Louisiana Writing Project writing marathon in New Orleans. I am glad to be doing that again. So the book was good. It took a little while to get into, I will admit, but overall I found it quite informative.

I read these books on writing and get inspired. Somehow or other, though, I am doing more reading than I am writing. I hope to correct that this month.

I’ll try to get to the speculative fiction later today or tomorrow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

