November Reading

I read 13 books and listened to one audiobook last month. Not a record, by any means, but not bad.

The nonfiction book I read was Hope on Earth: A Conversation by Paul R. Ehrlich and Michael Charles Tobias. This was an interesting discussion about the environment. The two men may not agree on all the specifics (Is it OK to eat chicken?), but they are in agreement that we need to do something to save the planet. Population control is a big topic, but it is not the only one. The reader is given the chance to sit in on a casual conversation between two very bright men and learn. I recommend it.

I read five mysteries:

 

  • Snarl by Celina Grace was a good story. It is the 4th book in the series. Kate Redman, the lead detective an protagonist in the story, has been off work for a while and is just now back. It seems that her co-workers treat her a little oddly, a little too much with kid gloves, but I haven’t read the earlier books, so I don’t know if this is because she had been injured or if this is how she is always treated. I enjoyed the book and will try to read more in the series.
  • But Not Forgotten by B.J. Bourge takes place in Southeast Louisiana, so I was bound to like it. And I did. I can’t say I was totally surprised by the ending, but it wasn’t obvious, either. I plan to read more of this series.
  • Inferno by Casey Hill is the second book in this series, and I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed the first one. In case you don’t know, Reilly Steel is a forensic investigator trained by the FBI and working in Ireland. The different locale is an interesting addition in this series. The murders were pretty gruesome in this one — not so much in a blood and guts way, but more in thinking about the manner of death. I really liked this book, and I am continuing on through the series.
  • Hidden is the third book in this series by Casey Hill, and I recommend it, too. What I like about this series is that, so far at least, the cases are all completely different. This one involved some interesting tattoos and some missing children. Normally, I stay away from book in which children disappear, but this was done well and had some interesting twists and turns along the way.
  • Murder at the Art & Craft Fair by Steve Demaree was surprisingly fun. I had tried the first book in this series — twice, as a matter of fact — and I just couldn’t read it. This one (book 6, I believe) was much more enjoyable. The main characters are two semi-retired police detectives. They are now both in love, and that detracted a little from the mystery, but it wasn’t too bad. I think I am going to go back and give Book 1 a try again.

Well, it has been a crazy morning, and I have only gotten this far in my reading after more than 2 hours of “working” on it. I’ll try to finish tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

