Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

November Reading, part 2

Here we go for part 2 of last month’s reading!

I only read four books of speculative fiction last month:

 

  • Requiem’s Prayer by Daniel Arenson was the third book in the Dawn of Dragons trilogy. I am not sure why I love Arenson’s books as much as I do, but I do! The writing is good; the story is good; the characters are excellent. What’s not to love?  That being said, though, I did not like this book as much as I liked the first two. This one was so much about the demons and so gruesome that I found myself skimming over parts of it. But I think that is due my weirdness more than to Arenson’s writing. The trilogy ends happily enough, but they sure had a hard time getting there!
  • Spin by Robert Charles Wilson was Tor’s November ebook selection.  I am happy to say that I got the book read in the “right” month and that I loved it! Yes, it is about a catastrophe that hits Earth, but it is also about people. The three main characters, a brother and sister and the son of their housekeeper, are complex people. They each interact with the catastrophe, known as the Big Blackout, and its aftermath on a different level, but their lives remain connected regardless of what happens in the outer world. I really recommend this book. And I recommend you check out Tor’s ebook club. December’s book is available until December 7th, so you have to act quickly if you want to get started this month.
  • Star Fall by Dean Wesley Smith is the seventh book in the series but the first one I have read. I really enjoyed it. There were some things that seemed a little silly, like an annual race that goes from one end of their ship to the other and back again, but overall, it was quite good.  This book apparently provides clues into the background of the series, but they meant nothing to me in that context. The good news is that they did not detract at all from my enjoyment of the book. I definitely want to read more in the series.
  • The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson was a truly wonderful book. The story was a simple one on the surface: a forger had to reconstruct the emperor’s soul. (Well, that doesn’t sound all that simple when I read it here!) But the characters are what truly makes it the excellent book that it is. I cannot recommend it enough!

I read one historical fiction, book 3 in Paul Banister’s Forgotten Emperor series, Arthur Invictus. I liked this one quite a bit. It was about war but not one constant battle after another. In this book, Arthur takes the battle to the Romans. As I have said before, I am enjoying this series both for the stories and for the insight into life in Britain at that time.

I read one piece of short fiction, Rice Cooker Revenge by S. J. Pajonas.  It was a totally silly story, but I have to admit that I kind of enjoyed it.  It is, as I am sure you might have guessed from the title, about a rice cooker who gets revenge on a mean chef by helping his apprentice. Like I said, silly, but fun.

Early last month I finished R.A Salvatore’s Demon Wars Saga audiobooks. I listened to Immortalis. There were many times throughout the series that I was ready to give up because I didn’t like the way the story was going, but I am glad that I continued to the end. It was definitely worth it! This was an extremely satisfying installment in an excellent story. I cannot recommend it enough!

I have started on my December reading. Let’s see where it goes!

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

