When you read a really good book…

you know it. There is a depth, a complexity, a simplicity that can’t be ignored.

One such really good book is the one I am reading now, Off Armageddon Reef by David Weber. I am less than half way through the 736-page novel, but I have to say I love it. There is a depth to it that I haven’t encountered in a book since the last Tor.com ebook club selection I read.

I know some people would say that is only natural, that a traditionally published book is bound to be better than an independently or self-published one. I don’t believe that is true. Weber is an experienced author. His work is bound to be better than someone writing her or his first novel.

Another aspect of this, too, is that he is writing science fiction, and science fiction at its best tells us about ourselves and the world we live in.  This book definitely does that.

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying this book. And I want to encourage you to go to the Tor.com ebook club page and sign up for next month’s selection.  If you like speculative fiction, you won’t be disappointed!

One thought on “When you read a really good book…

Leave a Reply

