My writing

Last month I read Lifelong Writing Habit: The Secret to Writing Every Day by Chris Fox and as I did, I set myself some writing goals. One of them was to check back in with myself one month later to see how I was doing with the goals and, more importantly, whether or not I was still writing.

My goals involved writing at certain times of the day (7-8:30 am) and a certain number of words per day (2000). I was going to finish editing our first book by 2/15 and be be well on my way to finishing the first drat of the second book.

Well, it didn’t exactly work out like that. I have written a few days from 7-8:30, but not many. I quickly decided that I wasn’t going to stress about that goal. I am still usually writing in the morning, but if that doesn’t happen, I write in the afternoon. The important thing, as far as I am concerned, is that I have written every single day since January 19. It has been a long time since I have written every day, and it feels good to be back in the groove.

I also failed pretty big on the word count goal. I only wrote 200o words on 8 days. But, in 30 days I have written over 35,000 words. Not a record, by any means, but I am happy with it.

Part of my problem with word count was the fact that I actually exceeded  one goal. I finished the first draft of the second book on February 1, not March 15 as I had thought I would. Once I didn’t have that bog project to work on, writing 200 words a day got harder. I started on the third book but am just writing scenes. I think I could probably start writing more on it, and I prob ably will this next month.

The first book hasn’t moved ahead hardly at all, and it should have been completely finished by now. I am a little bummed about that but not overly so. I think that having the second one ready to go and being able to publish two books almost at once is a good idea.

So what are my goals for this next month? I want to:

  • write 2000 words every day
  • finish second draft of the second book
  • get third book up from it’s current 3000 words to 30,000
  • continue to develop the blog for the books

That should be doable if I set my mind to it. Starting in April I will be busy teaching again, so I need to get as much done before then as I can.

I am not setting goals about finalizing the first book because it still requires input from my son. I have no control over that right now, so why stress. I am also not setting time of day goals. It just doesn’t work.

I’ll try to remember to come back next month and let you know how I’m doing. Hopefully, it will be good!

 

 

One thought on “My writing

Leave a Reply

