Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

More from George Saunders

Another great interview with George Saunders on The Rumpus.net. He says this:

You probably can’t change your innate level of imaginative-ness, but I think it’s the persistence in the activity that burns through your lame answers until you make space for an answer that seems original. That’s consoling because that means you just have to work.

I loved that! My writing is still so full of lame answers that I am embarrassed. But if I am willing to put in the work, maybe there is hope!

I’ve always felt I wasn’t very imaginative. That always made the possibility of writing fiction seem so daunting. But if work can make up for some of that, maybe I can produce good writing anyway.

Saunders’ responses to questions in this interview and the article in The Guardian have both been extremely encouraging. His approach to revision is one I had already begun to embrace, and I think I understand more clearly what it is I am trying to do now. It will be interesting to see what comes of it.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

