Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

Another month gone!

The second month of my writing habit development program has ended, and the results have been mixed. Here goes:

On a positive note, I wrote every single day. That, after all, is the primary goal, so I am happy. I know there were several days when I only wrote because I had made that commitment to myself. It would have been so much easier to read a book or play a game or do nothing at all. But I forced myself to open up the computer and write. And I am glad I did. It has been a long time since I can say I have written every day for what is not two months.

My other goals for the month were:

  • write 2000 words every day
  • finish second draft of the second book
  • get third book up from it’s current 3000 words to 30,000
  • continue to develop the blog for the books

Here I was not so successful. While I wrote every day, I only made 2000 words once. Most days I didn’t even make 1000 words! In part I think that is due to the fact that I am early into the third book, and the story isn’t flowing like I would like it to be yet. I know writing is the way to get the story flowing, but I haven’t been as successful with that as I would have liked. As a result, I am nowhere near 30,000 words on the third book. But I have almost tripled its length. And the story is starting to come together more in my mind, so hopefully this next month will be better.

I finished the second draft of the second book, and I am very pleased with how it is going. For the time being, I have kind of put it aside, but I may get back to it before this next month is over. I added almost 5000 words to it last month.

I have added to the blog for these books, too. There is still more that could be done and I hope to work on it more this next month, too.

So now the question is what will my goals be for this next month. This is what I am thinking:

  • write 1000 words every day
  • get third book up from it’s current 8900 words to 35,000

That sounds pretty lame even to me, but I think these are more realistic goals for me than last month’s were. Let’s see if I am right!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Another month gone!

  1. Pingback: Another month of writing | Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

