March reading, part 1

It was a good month for reading, even though it seemed at times it might not be. I read a total of 14 books and 5 shorter pieces of fiction.

The non-fiction book I read, Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly was a wonderful read. I did not see the movie, so I can’t compare the two, but I don’t see how the movie could have done the book justice. These women did amazing things in spite of everything in society that worked against them. As a woman, I cannot help but be proud of their accomplishments. As a white woman, I cannot help but be ashamed that I knew nothing about these women and their contributions to World War II and the space program until now.

The shorter fiction I read included:

 

  • Enigma is the second book in Lindsay Buroker’s Encrypted series. I loved it. The characters were wonderful. I might be partial to the female lead, Tikaya Komitopis, because she is a linguist of sorts — a cryptanalyst, actually. I would love to have been a linguist, so I am drawn to this character. Of course, her linguistic abilities have gotten her into quite a fix, so maybe I was better off as a language teacher! I highly recommend this series of 3 books, the other 2 of which I will be reviewing in my next post.
  • 1000 Yards by Mark Dawson was not my usual kind of book. The story of an assassin sent to North Korea, it was a little grittier than most books I read. But I enjoyed it. Of course, not everyone gets out alive, but enough people do that I cold live with it. It was a good story.
  • Astray in Couper by R. Marquez was a good story. Matty Cruz moves to the Pacific Northwest, only to find it isn’t quite as peaceful as she had hoped it would be. She accidentally “inherits” a dog and, with it, a host of problems she could never have imagined. It was fun.
  • Holocaust in the Homeland by Corinda Marsh was another story of something I knew little about. While it is historical fiction, it tells the story of the riots in the greenwood section of Tulsa in 1921. It was a very difficult book to read because of the subject matter. I knew a little about these riots, in which the wealthy African American community was destroyed and many people were killed, but to read all about it was hard. The book is narrated, supposedly, by a white journalist from back East who has gotten to know some of the Greenwood residents before the fateful two days. As I said, it was a difficult book to read but I am glad I read it.
  • Legacy Device  by Rachel Amphlett was billed as a short story, but since it is about 8000 words and has chapters, I decided to include it here. This is the prequel to Amphlett’s  Dan Taylor series. Dan is an Iraq war vet whose post-Iraq life is every bit as dangerous as what he left behind. This story deals with the end of his time in Iraq. It was a good story, but I would have enjoyed it better if it had been a little longer. I just didn’t feel like I had enough time to really get into the story.

Well, that’s all I have the patience to write about this evening. I’ll be back tomorrow with more!

 

Leave a Reply

