Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

March reading, part 2

OK, on to the mysteries and thrillers!

 

  • All Eyes on Me by Linsey Lanier was a good story. A Las Vegas performer is found dead off the side of the road. Two detectives are called in by a sergeant with the Las Vegas police department to solve the murder. At first that fact bothered me a lot. They were called in before the investigation even got started. The sergeant knew one of the detectives but didn’t seem to like him at all. And he certainly didn’t want a woman working the case. So why were they brought in? It took a while, but once I got past that, I really enjoyed the book. This is the first in Lanier’s Miranda and Parker Mystery series and, apparently, a spin-off if her Miranda’s Rights series. I plan to read more of these.
  • A Zen for Murder by Leighann Dobbs was  a really fun read. This was the first of several books I read this month with older women as the main characters. As I get older, I find I enjoy reading about someone closer to my own age who can still go out and, in one way or another, kick butt.  Claire Watkins definitely falls into that category. She and a retired cop work together to solve a murder. The story was good, as Dobbs’s stories always are. I hope you will give this book a try!
  • Under Fire is the second book in Rachel Amphlett’s Dan Taylor series that I wrote about yesterday. It was a very faced-paced story. Taylor is an interesting guy, and he seems to be willing to do whatever his (British) government asks of him. This time he is trying to stop computer hackers who want to stop the sale of Qatari natural gas to Britain in order to force them to buy it elsewhere. I really enjoyed this story. I have more in the series and will be reading them before long!
  • Still Kicking by Judith Arnold was another really good story. The main character, Laine Lovett, is another of those “older women” I was talking about. She is younger than I am but a lot closer to my age than most female character seem to be. Lanie is a real hoot! She tries to give information in a police investigation into a murder only to become a suspect in the case. Of course, she ends up saving the day and meets a really handsome guy in the process.  It was just fun!
  • Murder at the Mansion by Alison Golden and Jamie Vougeot also has a slightly older protagonist. Reverend Annabelle Dixon is only in her 30s, but, perhaps because of her profession, she seems a little older than that. Regardless of her age, Annabelle is a lot of fun. She herself does not come under suspicion for the murder of a new resident of Upton St. Mary, but she is suspected of another “crime”. Of course, solving one case leads to the solution of the other. I really enjoyed this book and I hope to read more in the series!

I also read Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, which could be classified as a mystery. Since you don’t really learn anything about the actual crime until you know who did it (and even then there is nothing straightforward about it!), I wasn’t sure I wanted to lump it in with the other mysteries. It is so much more than that. It was a very good story told in a way that made the story even better. Too much knowledge as you go along would have made this much less interesting to me.

So that does it for today’s installment of March reading. Tune in tomorrow for the last of it!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

