Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

March reading, part 3

Hopefully this is the last installment in the report of my March reading!

I only read one piece of historical fiction last month, and it was another book that I almost put in the “Other Fiction” category. It was Silence by Shusaku Endo, translated by William Johnston. In the end, I decided to call it historical fiction. It was a fascinating book. I had wanted to see the movie but it didn’t play in my small New Mexican town, so I decided to read the book instead. And I am very glad I did. The story, as you probably know, is of Portuguese missionaries to Japan and their struggles with their faith in the face of persecution. I imagine I would like the movie if I saw it, but I question whether or not it could really do the book justice.

I also read six speculative novels:

 

  • Decrypted by Lindsay Buroker was the final book in her Encrypted series. As was the case with the first two, I loved this book. Buroker’s heroines are all so smart, and Tikaya Komitopis is no exception! Even though she is smart, though, everyone around her assumes that she has been brainwashed by Admiral Rias Starcrest. He couldn’t possibly really love her, could he? This was a really fun read!
  • 12.21.12: The Vessel by Killian McRae was a good book. I should have loved it because it is exactly the kind of book I love: Indiana Jones meets Stargate. And I almost loved it. Some parts of it were a little confusing, I have to admit. I think that was intentional in some cases and accidental in others. In spite of some reservations, I have to say that I really enjoyed it and would recommend it if this sounds like your kind of thing at all!
  • Shadow and Claw by Gene Wolfe was, as I have said earlier, last month’s Tor.com ebook club  selection. I devoted two more posts last month to this book, detailing my struggles to read it.  I don’t think I need to repeat all that here. I have tried thinking about the book since then and find that I still have these mixed feelings about it. Actually, they aren’t that mixed; I really didn’t enjoy the book. But somehow I really feel like that is my fault, that I should have enjoyed it and would have enjoyed it if I were a better person or something. I know that’s silly, but it’s how I feel.
  • Her Own Devices,  Magnificent Devices and Brilliant Devices are the second, third and fourth books in the Magnificent Devices series  by Shelly Adina. I thoroughly enjoyed all three books. I read the first book in the series back in 2015. Don’t know why it took me so long to read these next three! In addition to fun stories in each of the three novels, the overall arc of the series shows real growth for the characters. That always makes a series more interesting to me because each book is then really a story within a story. As simple as that sounds, the books in some series don’t seem to build on each other that way; they are more just individual stories about the same people. Anyway, I really enjoyed these books and really recommend them.

So that finishes my March reading.  April is off to a little bit of a slow start, but it will pick up as we go along, I’m sure. I’ll let you know all about it next month!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

