Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

Another month of writing

It seems odd to me to be writing about my writing closer to the middle of the month than to the end of it, but that’s when I set the goal, so it’s when I have to report on progress.

Last month I set what I thought were lame but more realistic goals for myself. They were:

  • write 1000 words every day
  • get third book up from it’s current 8900 words to 35,000

Yes, they were lame, but lame as they were, they were still not realistic!

The good news is that I wrote every day again. That is the main goal, as far as I am concerned. There were a couple days it was a struggle and I ended up writing a couple hundred words at 11 pm, but I did it.

Most days, I did not write 1000 words. Some days I did. In so doing, I took the book from 8,900 words to 22,028 words. Not 35,000 to be sure, but I added more than 13,000 words to it in a month.

So what do I want to work toward in this next month? I think 1000 words a day is still kind of a low bar and one that I will keep aiming for until most days I surpass it. And since I wrote 13,000 words on the book, I want to aim for more than that this month. I think I should strive to reach 40,000 words. That’s only about 5000 more than I wrote this month, so it should be doable.

But like I said, the real goal is to keep writing every day. I am now teaching 2 online classes, so I am a lot busier, but there is really no excuse for not doing it. Let’s see if I can.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

