April reading, part 1

I didn’t do a lot of reading in April. My classes took a lot of time, getting the students all settled and comfortable with the courses. But I did some, and I’ll tell you about it here.

I read one non-fictoin book, Hagakure: the Book of the Samurai by Yamamoto Tsunetomo.  It was read a research for the books. The edition I read was a poorly done one, but it was free, so I guess I can’t complain! It was an interesting read, but by now it seems familiar. If I were going to read this again, I would opt for a different edition.

I read 4 mysteries:

 

  • An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax was a fun read. It is the first in the “Matchmaker Mysteries”. I had some difficulty with the matchmaker part of it, but the rest of the story was good. The bad guys were really bad and crazy. This wasn’t a book that made me want to rush out and read the rest of the series, but it was fun.
  • Chimera by Celina Grace is the fifth volume in her Kate Redman series. It’s only the second one I’ve read, I think. It was a good story. I had some trouble with some of Kate’s personal issues this time, but that could be because I haven’t read these books in order. I will be back to read more of these.
  • Big Game by Robin Barefield was a surprise. I honestly didn’t expect a whole lot from it, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It starts with the protagonist driving down the road, watching a car speed past her and not make the curve. She stops to help the driver of the car, of course, and ends up hearing his dying words — which were to give a message to no one but Andy. Problem is, none of the cast of characters seems to be named Andy. Come to find out, the guy was an FBI agent, but no one seems to know what he was working on.  It is a little convoluted, but it definitely kept me reading. I think you might enjoy it.
  • Zia Summer by Rudolfo Anaya was by far the best book I read last month. The mystery was a good one, but the books was so much more than that. Knowing many of the places Anaya write about and knowing about some of the incidents he mentioned made this even more interesting. And, of course, on top of all that you have Anaya’s beautiful writing. I cannot recommend this book enough.

OK, that’s all I have time for today. More tomorrow?

 

Leave a Reply

