April reading, part 2

Well, it has taken a little while for me to get back to this, but here goes.

I read two pieces of speculative fiction:

  • Ambassador 1: Seeing Red by Patty Jansen is a book I have owned for a while but never got around to reading. I finally decided to change that, and I am glad I did. The book is billed as a Space Opera Thriller, and it was! I really enjoyed this book.  Cory Wilson is a diplomat, headed out on his first mission when the whole universe seems to fall apart, taking his mission with it. He continues to fight for what he feels is right until he gets to the truth. It is a good book, and I will read more in the series.
  • Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente was another Tor.com ebook club selection. It was easier to read than the March book was, but I didn’t enjoy it any more than I enjoyed that one. As I have said, though, the experience of reading these books has made me realize that I need more realism in my books. Which is interesting in that I am thinking about reading One Hundred Years of Solitude  again since it is the Guardian’s reading group selection for May. But back to Deathless… I cannot really recommend it. I am sure it is wonderful, but it didn’t work for me at all.

For Historical Fiction, I read The Sudbury School Murders by Ashley Gardner. I really like these books. They are mysteries set in the early 1800s. As is always the case, the mystery was good, and the glimpse into England at that time was quite enjoyable. Captain Lacey has taken a job at a boys school, apparently to solve the problem of serious pranks being played on people at the school. It ends up being much more complicated than that, as the title would imply. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

I read two pieces of shorter fiction:

  • The Signal and the Boys (a prequel to the Earth’s Last Gambit Trilogy) by Felix R. Savage was a good story. You can get it for free on Savage’s website.
  • A Cry for Help by Adam Croft was another Kempston Hardwick mystery. And, as usual, I loved it. Actually, I may have enjoyed this one more than some of the others. I can’t find this one on Amazon to provide you with a link. I guess it is one I got for signing up for Croft’s newsletter.

I also got back in to listening to books, Looking Backward by Edward Bellamy this month. It was an interesting story of how the world might have been in the year 2000. Bellamy had much higher hopes for us than we deserve, I’m afraid. I got the audio version from Librivox.org.

So April wasn’t a bad month for reading, but it wasn’t great, either. Let’s see how May goes!

Leave a Reply

