Random Thoughts

about reading, writing, and anything else that interests me

May reading, a little late!

I’ve been traveling and haven’t had time, interest or internet connection to post last month’s reading until now. But finally, I am back home and ready to post.

I read The Conquest of the Illinois by George Rogers Clark. It was very interesting to me. I like reading about history (as long as there are no wars involved!) and, being from Illinois, I am especially interested in the history of that part of the country. I won’t say that this was always an easy or fascinating read, but I am glad I read it.

I read 7 mysteries:

  • Zia Summer by Rudolfo Anaya was a really wonderful read. I wasn’t expecting a mystery from Anaya, but the story was wonderful. Even more interesting to me, though, was the insight into New Mexican folklore and traditions. Sonny Baca, the main character is a young man who values the old ways — in some ways like Tony Hillerman’s Jim Chee character. Anaya, of course, is a wonderful writer, and this book was wonderful. As I write this, I am reading the second book in this series. It is every bot as good as the first.
  • Death by Chocolate by Abigail Keam is the sixth book in this series. I haven’t read all of them, but that doesn’t seem to be too much of a problem. An old bad guy is back, trying to kill Josiah, but since this is book 6 in a 10 book series, you can assume she outwits him. I enjoyed this book but I think maybe not as much as I expected to. Not sure why. It is an easy read — maybe too easy!
  • Serial Date  by D.V. Berkom is the first in a series of books about a retired assassin, Leine Basso. She has a complicated history that wasn’t real clear to me in this book, but I think that was intentional. The story kept me interested — even though I don’t read a lot of thrillers because I don’t like the violence that seems to pop up regularly. I was able to get past that in this book to the point where I have read this one and the second book in the series already.
  • Hollywood Assassin by MZ Kelly has been in my library for years, and I just never got around to reading it. Now that I have, I an anxious to read more in the series. And, as you will see by reading on, I have already started on them! Kate Sexton is a detective with the LAPD. Her crazy life just seems to be getting crazier after she stops a cop from being shot — by another cop! I always get nervous when someone sets out to write 26 books in a series, but these are starting out pretty good.
  • Just One Evil Act by Elizabeth George was a book I had looked forward to reading for a long time. It is the 18th book in the Inspector Lynley series, and I think I have read all of the first 17. I finally found this at a decent price and bought it. And for a big chunk of the book, I was sorry I did. Barbara Havers, the main character in this book, gets herself into a mess that I didn’t think she was going to be able to get out of without really disappointing me. The last several books of this series have been far darker and shown a less perfect side of Lynley and Havers, but this one seemed to be going too far as far as I was concerned. Fortunately, George is writes better than I can imagine, and I ended up looking forward to reading book 19. One thing I missed was the active presence of Simon and Deborah St. John in this book. They are really interesting characters, and they only made a cameo here.
  • Bad Traffik by D.V. Berkom is the second book in the Leine Basso series. I enjoyed it more than I expected to. I like the characters, but I thought that a book about trafficking children might be too much for me. But it wasn’t. There were lots of twists and turns that made it interesting. I am going to read more in this series.
  • Hollywood Blood by MZ Kelly was a pretty good second book in the series. There are lots and lots of hilarious characters to keep the reader entertained. The mystery is decent and kept my interest. I am a little worried that the Hollywood craziness will get to be too much before long, but we’ll see.

OK, I managed to take a lot longer to finish this post than it should have, and I still have a bunch of books to go, so I will be back to finish May’s reading!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

