June Reading

Well, I’ll get started on my June reading today. I got quite a bit done, it seems.

I read one non-fiction book: A History of the Popes, Volume 1: Origins to the Middle Ages  by Wyatt North. It was an interesting book, but it probably wouldn’t appeal to lots of people. This is an overview, not in any way an in-depth study. Each of the men discussed got only a brief description, including his election, his death, and any important event that took place during his papacy. It was interesting to me to learn more about these early popes.

I read five mysteries:

  • Rio Grande Fall by Rudolfo Anaya was wonderful! This was the second book in his Sonny Baca series, and I enjoyed it every but as much as the first one, Zia Summer. The mysticism is stronger here, and that may not appeal to some readers, but it was a very important element as far as I am concerned. I love learning about different cultures, but oftentimes authors don’t fully understand the culture they are describing. No such worries when one is reading Anaya! This story was engaging, but the characters are even more so. I really cannot recommend this book, this series, enough!
  • Ice Blue by Emma Jameson was a good story that made me think of Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley series. Anthony Hetheridge is a Baron and Chief Superintendent of New Scotland Yard. He rescues the career of a young detective who has managed to anger some of the good old boys who run Scotland Yard.  Of course, he ends up being attracted to the detective and, as this is called the Lord &  Lady Hetheridge Mystery Series, I assume it ends up moving beyond just attraction! The mystery was good, and it was never overshadowed by the personal stories of the characters. This is a series I plan to read more of. I really enjoyed it!
  • In the Spirit of Murder  by Laura Belgrave was a good story. The female detective was hired sight unseen because the police chief wanted to “prove” to the town and to the county sheriff that the department was able to handle anything that might come its way. Needless to say, the detective ended up being more than the chief bargained for, and she was generally unnecessary — until a serial killer struck. The story was good, but it felt dated. Although it was copyrighted 2012, it felt like it was set in the 1990s. Modern readers will have to try to remember what life was like before we had computers and cell phones if they don’t want to be jarred by some detail in almost every chapter. For that reason — and none other — I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone under the age of 45. The story was a good one, but it would have been solved much more quickly if anyone had had a cell phone!
  • Cruising for Death by D.V. Berkom is the fifth book in Berkom’s Kate Jones series, but it is the frist one I have read. I was looking forward to it because I really enjoyed what I’ve read of her Leine Basso series, but I have to admit I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much. That could be due to the fact that I didn’t start at the beginning of the series, but I don’t know. If I read more of these, I may be able to answer that question later on. There are lots of twists and turns in the story — almost too many for me, I’m afraid. Again, though, it might have been easier to follow if I had started with book 1. So if you want to give this series a try, I would not start this far into it!
  • Death by Obsession by Jaden Skye is the eighth book in this series. I have read many of the earlier ones and at least one that comes after this one, so that wasn’t a problem for me. What was a problem, though, was that the editing and formatting were terrible. A more discriminating reader would probably have given up long before reaching the end of the book. On top of that, this story didn’t seem as well developed as some of them have been. I think this is a case of a series going beyond where it should have stopped!

So that’s it for today! I’ll be back to continue tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

