June reading, part 2

I only read 4 speculative novels last month:

  • Avanaux by PJ McDermott was a really good book. It is the first book (after the prequel) in the Propsperine Trilogy. I had greatly enjoyed the prequel I read back in December, but I have to admit that I had a hard time making the transition from what I had read then to the start of this book. Once I took a minute to remember what had happened, the transition was easy, and I really enjoyed this book! Just to make things a little more confusing, though, McDermott has reissued this book with a new name: The Alien Corps. The story is about religion and politics, set in another world. You might not think that sounds like a good mix, but it is worth definitely worth a read. I will try to read the rest of the series one of these days.
  • Old Man’s War by John Scalzi was Tor.com’s ebook selection for the month. In contrast to the last couple months’ selections, I have to say I really enjoyed this one. The concept sounds very normal: people sign up to join the military to fight aliens. The twist is that you can’t enlist until you reach the age of 75. None of the soldiers really knows what to expect until they actually enter training, and even then they aren’t real sure. While the recruits learn to deal with their new abilities, a small group develops a friendship that carries them through this whole book, at least. But it isn’t all fun and games; it is war, and they soon learn just what that means. There are cuurently, at least, 6 books in this series, and I really would like to read them all.
  • Hyde – an Urban Fantasy by Lauren Stewart is a twist on Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. It is written for adults. (Think Karen Moning’s Fever series.) I enjoyed the book. Mitch and Eden are being manipulated, forced into being people they don’t want to be and into a relationship with each other that neither wants. It is a tale of good versus evil — with some twists and turns along the way. I will read the rest of this series, I’m pretty sure.
  • Deathmaker by Lindsay Buroker is the second book in her Dragon Blood series. As expected, it was a great book, and I loved it. Buroker writes equally well about battles and romance. Her characters are sarcastic, a trait I really enjoy.  The only criticism I could possible have about this book is that what I have said about it so far could be said about most of Buroker’s books. This one seemed a little too much like a few other of hers I have read: “soldiers” on opposing sides end up being thrown together, fight their way out of many tough spots, and fall in love along the way. Having said that, though, I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters, while similar to those in other books, are individuals in their own right, not carbon copies of someone else. I love Buroker’s writing and her story telling, and this book did nothing to dampen my enthusiasm. I encourage you to give her stuff a try if you haven’t yet.

Well, this took longer than it should have, so that’s all for today. More later!

Leave a Reply

