July Reading, part 1

I did lots of reading last month, and it will probably take me several days to report on it here. But let’s get a start on it today!

Mysteries included the following:

  • The Gray and Guilty Sea: An Oregon Coast Mystery by Scott William Carter was a good story that I have had sitting on my Kobo for a long time. I am not sure why I didn’t pick it up before now. Oh well…  Garrison Gage is a private investigator from New York who ran away from it all after his wife was murdered and he was injured. He heads for the Oregon coast, about as far away as he could get. He has no interest in investigating anything, but after he discovers a dead girl’s body at his feet as he walks the beach, he finds himself sucked into trying to figure out how she ended up there. As I said, the story is a good one.
  • Sacrifice is the third book in Carolyn Arnold’s Madison Knight series. It was a good story. A rich man’s son is found dead. Madison suspects the father, but she is met by a lot of opposition from the Chief of Police. To further complicate things, the Secret Service is investigating the father. I have mixed feelings about Knight as a character, but this story was definitely worth reading.
  • Torch Ginger by Toby Neal is the second book in her Lei Crime series.  I read the first one quite a while ago, and I enjoyed it, so I finally decided to read the next one. As you will note if you continue reading this post, I read the third, fourth and fifth books in the series this month, too, so I must have enjoyed it! A missing husband leads Lei to uncover a string of murders. She is eventually able to solve them, of course, but not without a lot of problems along the way!  It was a good story, and I recommend it.
  • Requiem by Celina Grace is the second book in her Kate Redman series. I enjoyed it a great deal. This time the murder victim, a young woman, leads Kate to question her own brother’s possible involvement. The case is a complicated one, of course, but Kate is able to solve it.
  • Black Jasmine  by Toby Neal is her third Lei Crime novel. Reviews on Amazon are mixed, of course, but I enjoyed it. This book brings Lei’s relationship with Michael, her former fiance, back to the forefront. Many of the negative comments about the book focused on that element rather than the mystery. I liked watching them work through their relationship, so I didn’t mind the pages devoted to that. (I didn’t like the ending, though!) As you can see below, I am still reading the series!
  • In Broken Ferns by Toby Neal, Lei has moved on to the FBI. As someone who always struggled to follow orders, this didn’t seem like a good move for her, but she didn’t ask me! The FBI is called in to investigate a robbery; a light aircraft was stolen from its rich owner. The guy’s dog was taken, too. Who would do that? Turns out it was someone who loved dogs and wanted to use the aircraft to steal from the rich and give to the poor. While I didn’t really like reading about Lei’s  struggles within the FBI, I really enjoyed her involvement in solving the case.
  • Twisted Vine by Toby Neal is probably my least favorite book in the series so far. That had more to do with the topic, suicides, than anything else, I think. I began to worry about one of the characters, Sophie Ang, in a way I have never worried about a character in one of Neal’s books. In spite of that, this was a good book. I would recommend trying to read these books in order, of you can, because I don’t think this would be a good starting point.

That’s all I have time or energy for today! See you later!

Leave a Reply

